Your Daily Cry: “I Can’t Make You Love Me/ Nick of Time,” Bon Iver Channels Queen Bonnie.

By: Britt Harvey

Can’t get this out of my head.

Bonnie Raitt plus Bon Iver is a match made in heaven.

Bonnie, the Scarlett haired songstress, was one of my first concerts as a kid. At the old school Walker Theatre (Winnipeg shout out), my mom gathered her friends and their daughters and took us to a Bonnie Raitt concert. I was 10 and I remember running through the aisles and hiding under the seats like a regular kid asshole- if I only knew then what I know now- that Bonnie would have a profound effect on the inner workings of my soul.

Though there are too many to count, “I Can’t Make you Love Me” is one of her classics.

Adele also does a cover of this song. And though her version is beautiful, I find that Bon Iver’s performance is more attuned to the quiet desperation and yearning of the Bonnie original.

As with all good songwriting, the message is timeless.

“I Can’t Make You Love Me/ Nick of Time” Bon Iver.

Tags:

Categories: Art, Music

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Have your say, leave a comment

